Q. How old do I have to be to attend Driver's Education?
A. The minimum age required: You must be at least 15 years and 9
months by the start of the class.
Q. When can
I get my Learner's Permit?
A. The minimum age to get your Learner's Permit is 16 years old.
Q. Do I need
to have my Learner's Permit to attend Driver's Education
A. No. As a matter of fact, the Driver's Education Classes will
prepare you to take the Learner's Permit Test.
Q. Do I need to take Driver's Education to get my Driver's
A. If you are under the age of 18, Massachusetts requires you to
successfully complete an RMV approved Driver's Education Program
and have the Driver's Education Certificate issued before you
can book and take your Driver's License test.
Q. How do I get a Driver's Education Certificate?
A. Upon Completion of all requirements at an approved Driver's
Education School and payment of the required $15 fee to the RMV,
the school will send an authorization to the RMV stating you
have completed the program. The RMV will then issue and mail
directly to the student an official Driver's Education
Q. What does
the Full Driver's Education Package Include?
A. The Full Driver's Education Package includes:
30 Hours of Classroom.
12 Hours of Behind the Wheel Driving Instruction
6 Hours of In-Car Observation while another student drives.
2 Hours Separate Class which Parents must attend.
Q. What if I
miss a class?
A. The Massachusetts RMV requires you to attend 30 hours of
Classroom preparation in order to obtain your Driver's Education
Certificate. Although it is always best to attend all of the
classes in the order in which they are taught, North Andover
Auto School, LLC offers an open enrollment program where you may
join a class at any point during the program. You must then
attend the specific class or classes missed during one of the
following program cycles. This also applies to missing or
skipping a class in the middle of a program cycle. Your
classroom instructor will keep track of which classes you have
attended and which ones you need to make up.
Q. When can
I start taking my On-Road Lessons?
A. Road Lessons may begin after the student has obtained his/her
Learner's Permit, after successfully completing the classroom
portion of Driver's Education, and after several hours of basic
driving with your parents. On-Road lessons will be booked with
each student individually.
Q. If I miss
a class, can I still start my On-Road Lessons?
A. Our policy is to allow you to begin your On-Road lessons so
long as you have completed 80% of your classroom time. However,
the certificate will still not be issued until all 30 hours of
classroom have been completed.
the earliest I can get my Driver's License?
A. Massachusetts Law mandates that you must be at least 16-1/2
years old, must have completed an approved Driver's Education
Program if under the age of 18, must hold your Learner's Permit
at least 6 months (183 days), and have no at-fault accidents or
violations while holding your Learner's Permit.